Why?

“I’m so relieved that all the reports are good”, I told my mother in law.

With a stubbornness I never knew I posessed, I took my mother in law for a full body check-up on sunday. With the consultation yesterday, all looked good except known issues.

“I should eat early at night.”, she sighed after hearing my bright remarks about the report.

“Who’s stopping you?”,  I quipped back, fully knowing the answer, armed with an experience of 10 yrs playing the same game.

“I don’t do anything after I finish my dinner. You know that, and I can’t do anything”.

She was busy arranging vessels after the maid left. Cooking oats for my lunch, I answered her back – “With my job, It’s not possible to be home by 7. If you are worried about kids dinner, that is mostly going to be on you – atleast half of it. When it’s a daily routine, why are you not eating your dinner by 7?”

“You know I cannot do that”, she was now getting restless.

“Don’t place your dependency on others and tell me why you can’t do it. If your health is priority, of course you will do it.”.  I rest my case, as my husband who was eating  his upma almost ate me with his eyes.”Don’t do that mistake”, he was silently scolding me.

As with other things at home, I gave her my piece of mind and stormed to cab. With no helmet, I’m still coming by cab instead of my lovely two wheeler. May be tomorrow.

“No resourcing available to do what I want”…

“No clear R & R available for me, nor others available to me..”.

All valid scenarios but that is where the difference between you and other people end, I told myself. If you are also cribbing the same stuff as others – how good are you then?

People who survive regardless of situations are called winners. I want to be one.

Leave a Reply

