My 2016 Reading Challenge : 50 Books

booksIf there is only one thing I’m any good at – that’s reading. Only good ol’ plain reading. Still haven’t mastered the art of reading between the lines, a skill my husband pesters me to acquire 😉  I think you’ll need to be good at these kind of stuff by default, can’t be acquired.

This year I had a strange resolution – NOT TO READ ANY BOOKS. I thought I’ve read a lot of senseless books in the recent past and I should really try my hand at something more practical –  like doing ACP or coding an app.

I still think so. In an interesting turn of events, a book landed into my lap – And the mountains echoed by Khalid Hosseini. Having read ‘The Thousand Splendid Suns’ by him earlier, the book seemed like an irresistible urge.  Having finished 50% of it in the bus, while drinking my coffee, walking up and down the stairs – I finally realized it’s utter nonsense not to READ. How could I even come up with such dumb resolution!????

So, I turned to my trusted source goodreads and cleared up the mess there.  Have a target of 50 books. So as to attack my distraction and penchant to gather more than I read, have filled up the to-read list with a lot of classics that absolutely warrant a read, some biographies, Harry Potter( shame on me for being so late!!) and some off-beat books of my taste.

Here goes my list – https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/29118074?shelf=to-read

Let’s see how far I can go with this.  Have a good day and keep rocking!

 

Leave a Reply

