Things I Learnt from My Mom

Being a mom is not easy.  Being a daughter? Even tough.  It goes beyond words to explain the effort every mother puts in raising their kids. As mother makes various sacrifices and raises them, the kids grow well, and it is extremely hard to find the wonderful qualities she has. I had turned to my mom during the toughest of times, and her smiling face has been always a great source of strength. As every human, she comes with few quirky traits too, but they are endearing too 🙂

As my maternity leave comes to an end, I keep thinking on the things me & mom have talked about, and how she’s been advicing me some of the most practical stuff I have heard in my life. In no particular order, here are the things I learnt from my mom:

a) Live in the Present : not a second before, not a second after. When I see the look in her face after cooking a hearty meal for us, I know the feeling she has.  As I share with her on some of the non pleasant things that happened in life, she smiles and says – live in the present. Soon, this minute will be gone too. These are the things that define your life when you are dead.

b) Happened is Happened. What next?! –  My mom says this with her trademark english accent. After I delivered the baby, I had series of health issues, some of which can be directly attributed to the stuff I did during my pregnancy. As I crib over and over on my foolishness, she keeps repeating this sentence until it fixes firmly in  my head. Sooo true.

c) Do your BEST, wherever you can –  This one she did not tell me, but whoever observes her can make this out. Wish the best, talk the best and do the best.  Hard, but with a living example – I should try too 😀

d) Responsibility is Responsibility. Period –  As I see her suffering silently under the name of responsibility many a times, I wonder what makes her stay put. As I talk with her over tea and biscuits – she explains her philosophy of respecting the position and thus the person holding it. No grudges whatsoever.

As every kid in the world would say, ” My Mom is the best! “, I too say this with my whole heart.

 

Leave a Reply

