The Story of Power Telling

storytelling

I just reversed the title a bit, similar to ‘The common of a Power man’ in the recent blockbuster ‘Chennai Express’. The title is ‘The Power of Story Telling’. I would like to tell this though an example.

My darling daughter Saanvi who turned 3 couple of months back is averse to bathing, but likes to sit in her bath tub, terming it as “Swimming”. So, when I call her to bathe, she will respond on a pre-condition that she will enter the bathroom only for swimming and not for bathing. I’ve tried many different ways, and finally settled to tell her a particularly fictitious horror story about bathing, which ticked big time with her. The story goes like this –

Once upon a time, there was a king. He didn’t like bathing but only wanted to swim everyday. So, day on day dirt accumulated on him and a black patch formed all over his body. Soon, ants, mosquitoes and all dirty insects started crawling on him. He smelled foul and no one played with him. He wasn’t even allowed into the playground. So, he ordered his soldiers and asked them to bathe him. So, 10 soldiers each took one soap each and started bathing one part of the body each. It took them one year to clean off the dirt and the king became white and fresh again! So, everyone played with him and since then he took bath everyday!! He used to ask his mom to bathe him first thing in the morning.

I made quite a few funny sounds, during the time soldiers bathed the king. She was hooked on. She immediately asked me – “Mom, will I get a black patch too?”. That’s it – my story is a success. I finished her bath in 5 minutes and got her out of the bathroom.

Tell a story. Persuade people – tell them why they need to do a particular thing.  It works – from toddlers to older people. The story needs to scare people a bit, soothe them and offer a solution – all at once while striking an emotional chord with them. Are you ready to sell things by weaving them into a beautiful story? For me, the journey has begun and I am sure to tell lot  more stories to Saanvi to get things done my way 🙂

Have a good day and keep rocking!!

Leave a Reply

