Lessons my Bike Learning has taught me

Image

Learning to ride my TVS Wego is one of my biggest achievements in Life. Now, you wonder – when every other school goer to retired uncle can ride a bike these days, what’s so great in taking it as one of my biggest accomplishments?

Allow me to explain. Although a bicycle rider for a good 8 years – all through my school, college and a bit of engineering life, I never graduated to bike. For a simple reason – I just didn’t think of it. And I never stayed at a place for long, and after I got married – i just didn’t feel the need to. As my daughter turned 2, I wanted to take her around and get her to play.  Now, how easy would that be with a bike? As days went by, the desire to learn bike became so strong that I finally bought one late 2013. 

You would imagine that, for a bicycle rider learning a bike is a cake walk. Not for me. If you would have a competition in the whole of India about people clueless about directions, probably I wound contend for the top spot. And yeah for mindlessness too. There are things that never miss my radar, and most of them are not on my radar. So, given the serious thinker I am, coupled with the above qualifications, my family was very worried to get me a bike, rightly so.

As the practice sessions started, Vinod started to grow more frustrated and convinced that I cannot ride a bike safely. While I more or less displayed my usual confident self that it’s a matter of time before I drive on my own – I still couldn’t get the courage to get saanvi out.  Now, I drive Saanvi to her playschool early in the morning, followed by 2 trips to my work place – morning and evening in the busy bangalore roads. So, what are the lessons my bike learning taught me?

a) Practice, Practice and Practice : That’s it. For any new skill, consistent practice will definitely yield results. Although you’ll be pathetic at first, just keep going and suddenly one day the thing you’re struggling about becomes cake walk.

b) Ignore the messenger, Catch the message : Amid frustrations, Vinod would almost give up on me everyday. But, slowly I noticed that I wasn;t following the basic rules of driving and that’s what was driving him crazy. Although I still argued that I was an awesome learner, I internalized the mistakes and never repeated them consciously.

c) Driving Factor: The Stronger the driving factor, the faster things get done. The ability to take Saanvi around by myself was something very strongly wanted by me, and I could do anything to achieve it. Lot of times, after practice session with Vinod, I would go out alone and practice again on the same roads to see how well I learnt things. I doubt if the motivation would have been the same if associated with myself, but having Saanvi on the goal definitely motivated me to learn bike faster and better.

d) Learn on the way: The first day I took Saanvi to playschool, no one in my family approved. For the simple and logical reason – I am not a good driver yet. But, I went anyway. So, in Life there’s nothing as being ready. If you are confident enough that you can manage, starting is the best thing to do. And the more I drove to work and to playschool, the better driver I am now. I wouldn’t have got this with the practice sessions on the same roads at the same time.

It’s like independence. I celebrated my ability to drive with a nice cup of ice-cream.  

Have a good day and keep rocking!!

Leave a Reply

