Thousand Splendid Suns : Quotable Quotes

TSSunsThis book was referred to me by my lovely sister in law, who has books last thing in her mind. Knowing the kind of person she is, I had the compulsive urge to start reading the book immediately. This is my fastest book in 2013 – finished reading in 2 days flat. The movie traces the lives of 2 afgan women – no where connected in the beginning, to their hatred, companionship and in the end – living for one another. One cannot expect to be moved by the happenings in the book. As I read on, I at some time felt blessed to be in a country where bombings, where i did not witness men beating up women brutally in front my eyes and where you had to live, picking up the remains of your loved ones any single day. This book left me both sad – for afgan women and blessed – for never being there. But I could not wonder for a long long time, how can one person endure a life like that? I’m sure the novel cannot be entirely fiction.

Usually i defer from writing  the story line with spoilers in my reviews. Whatever touches my heart remains with me. I do not need any rewind to keep such books in my head and heart forever. For my beloved readers, I bring quotable quotes from this book:

1. Nana said,”Learn this now and learn it well, daughter : Like a compass needle that points north, a man’s accusing finger always find a woman. Always. You remember that, Mariam.”

2. She remembered Nana saying once that each snowflake was a sigh heaved by an aggrieved woman somewhere in the world. That all the sighs drifted up in the sky, gathered into clouds, then broke into tiny pieces that fell silently on the people below.

3. In that week, Laila came to believe that of all the hardships a person had to face none was more punishing than the simple act of waiting.

4. Laila, my love, the only enemy an Afgan cannot defeat is himself

5.One could not count the moons that shimmer on her roofs, Or the thousand splendid suns that hide behind her walls

6. You can be anything you want, Laila, he says. I know this about you. And I also know that when this war is over, Afganistan is going to need you.

7. “I’m sorry”, Laila says, marveling at how every Afgan sory is marked by death and loss and unimaginable grief. And yet,she sees, people find a way to survive, to go on.

Go ahead and grab the book. You will never regret reading it,for your own personal reason.

Have a good day and keep rocking!!

Author: Saraswathi Pulluru

Aham Bhrahmasmi.

Leave a Reply

