Tuesdays with morrie: a book review

My new friend in Sydney, Shivali and me were talking about books during one afternoon post-lunch walk. She stayed in sydney for a while, and had a library membership. She said to me, I don’t read as much as I like. I gave her few titles that are easy on brain and suggested she go and explore them.

It’s often said that, what you give comes back, many times stronger. I wonder, I lost track of the number of times this has happened to me. Shivali pleasantly surprised me, by bringing a
Book for my reading.

20120504-085256.jpg

Yes, and I read it on and off – while going back home and coming to work.

Morrie is a dying professor, and his old favorite student Mitch, gets the unusual opportunity of spending 12 tuesdays with him – seeking answers to all the big questions today’s generation faces.

As I read each tyesday’s conversation – the thing I am more and more convinced is that : we all will be dead. I found myself concentrating on morrie’s health condition rather than the lessons he was delivering. It felt as if I sat beside my own old grand father. I even had slight tears during the last pages where the author describes morrie’s death.

Coming back to the advises given in the book , they all are pretty basic and some things which every one knows they should do but some how keep deferring them. Although there is no path breaking findings and observations on human life – its good to be reminded once in a while about the most important things in human life.

My takeaway from the boon is to listen to people with all the attention you can. Will make some improvement in this area.

If you are in light reading mode, and can stand reading about death – go pick one.

Have a good day and keep rocking!!

Leave a Reply

